A Coached Swim Session

On Friday night I had my first ever coached swim session. The Chiltern Tri club session was taken by the coach Chris Kitchen.

Having never experienced one of these before I had no idea what to expect. I have to say it was a really good session, he broke the elements of the stroke down into different drills and each of these was aimed to improve your stroke. The drills were simple in essence but as we all know nothing in swimming is easy and so often I found myself concentrating so hard on one bit that another aspect of the stroke I forgot about, it generally turned out to be the breathing!

I learnt a lot from this session and also speaking to him afterwards he was more than happy to offer some additional advice to help me improve.

This week when I go swimming I have several areas to focus on to help me improve, so lets hope for more improvement.

Leave a Reply

