Well That Didn’t Go So Well

Well the week that was, a story of what could have beens and what was.

The week had two main targets, firstly do a timed 400m swim and secondly do the Run To The Beat half marathon. two fairly simple tasks you would think, the reality was ever so slightly different.

Lets start with the swim, for anyone who has been reading this blog for a while you will know that me and swimming are not really the best of friends, too be honest we hate each other. The idea of having to swim 400m was suggested a while ago by Mike and I have been putting it off ever since, in the end I decided I just had to do it.

Well the truth is I did do it, and I had to take a rest after a few lengths, remove my nose clip (to help my breathing) and basically I got through it. In terms of the time, I probably could have used a calendar rather than a stop watch as it took so long, if any one is interested it took 20 minutes, possibly the slowest swim ever recorded!

After the thrill of the swim, next up was the half marathon, now I have to say I wasn’t a big fan of the course but other than that everything was going well till the 19 mile point, at which point I just slowed down by about 30-40 seconds a km. Why this happened I am not really sure, I think I may have been a little dehydrated or just not eaten enough prior to the start. What ever the cause it meant that my time was a very disappointing 2 hours 7 minutes, I had aimed for a flat 2 hours and was well on course to do it before the slow down happened.

A week that really shouldn’t bother me has left me with a bit of a sour taste, don’t get me wrong some good has come from the week, I have identified some of the major issues with my swim stroke, and I have some bench mark times to use going forward but in truth it really won’t go down in history as one of the greats.

Leave a Reply

