A Small Step In The Right Direction

Is swimming becoming easier? A question I am asked on occasions by friends and family who know how much “I love” swimming.

So what is the truthful answer, well I usually say “yes”, it is the easy answer and doesn’t require me to explain in some detail the actual difficulties I face in the water.

The answer I should give is “no” because it is not becoming easier, I still take a short rest after each 25m length the same as I did when I started at the beginning of the year. However, the other side of this is that my actual swimming stroke is improving, I now use bilateral breathing 95% of the time, my body roll is better and the stroke is generally in a better state.

Te swimming lessons I am taking now, have helped so far, in each of the weeks I have been I have improved one aspect of my swim stroke. On this basis by the time I have finished the course of lessons I will have improved just about all the parts, now whether this is actually possible is another matter but it certainly is something to aim at.

The one part that still eludes me is stamina, I don’t seem to be able to do one length after another without stopping for a 20 second rest. I’m not sure if the problem is that I actually can’t do it or that I lack the confidence to do it. I think it might be a confidence thing as I seem to have hard wired my brain to tell me to stop each time. Perhaps I should just turn and keep going and try not to think about it, easier said than done currently. I am told that if I keep swimming the stamina will come, one day it will just “click”, I really hope so.

Basically, I feel like I am on the right path to become a competent swimmer but it will take time, and I need to be patient (not something I am great at).

I am always open to suggestions on my swimming so please feel free to comment.

Leave a Reply

