An Extra Challenge

This week I have been building on the improvement in my knee, and have seen some improvement, for example on my third 45 minute zone 1 run, I ran an extra 0.5km at a slightly lower average heart rate, so heading in the right direction.

One thing I have become more aware of since the knee injury is what I do post a training session. For a long time I have always done the same set of stretches, hamstring, calf and quads, sine seeing the physio I have added some foam roller work. I was reading the Kinetic Revolution website and decided to take a closer look at the 30 day challenge.

I have heard about the challenge before, but never looked at it as I alway assumed it would interfere with my normal training, however, it turns out I should have looked into this more as it is designed to compliment anything you currently do, not replace it.

Armed with the new knowledge I decided to sign up, now the challenge is split up into 5 stages, each focusing on a different area. I am in the first stage, Basic Mobility & Balance Training, this stage consists of a series of exercises to work on certain areas, hamstrings, hip flexor and adductor plus some balance drills.

I can’t say I have seen an improvement in my running already, but I think the hip flexor exercises are helping me, as when I was at the physio she did point out my lack of mobility in my right hand side and I do feel a bit more flexible there now.

I am going to try and write about my progress through the challenge as it will be interesting to see if I can find some tangible results.

To anyone who is reading this and wondering whether to have a go, I say try it, if nothing else, like me, you might learn something that will ultimately help your running.

Leave a Reply

