That Wasn’t On The Plan

This last week started off so well, Monday nights run hit all the right numbers, felt great and in fact I went further than ever before for the same time and heart rate range. I was really looking forward to the rest of the week.

A day is a long time in politics, or so they so, well in sport it appears to be the same, I woke up on Tuesday morning with a horrible cold, no idea where it came from. It possibly came from a cold office on Monday, but I can’t be sure.

That was it basically, I couldn’t train with a cold, I wanted to but just didn’t feel like it and most of all I knew it wouldn’t help me get over the cold by doing so.

That was how it was till Saturday morning, when I decided to go for an easy run with my wife, we trotted round for a couple of miles and I felt ok, not great but I felt a lot better.

Sunday morning I went out on my own, just a simple off-road 5k, again I felt ok but no where near where I had been at the start of the week.

The issue is, that on Saturday I am entered into a 10k off road road which I was really looking forward to, and whilst I am not short of running miles I was hoping to go into it on the back of good couple of weeks training, not off the back of a cold. I am sure I as the weeks goes on I will get better but I have a feeling it might be a little slower than I hoped.

Onwards and upwards as they say, and I hope everyone else stays healthy.

Leave a Reply

