No Race Day Motivation

This morning I was due to race another duathlon, my bike was ready all my kit was packed but when I woke up I just didn’t feel like racing, I don’t know why.

Normally when I wake up on the day of race I have that slightly nervous, slightly excited feeling, today it just wasn’t there.

To make up for this I decided to go for a trail run, just go off into the woods no pace target, no distance target, just go and run. So that is what I did, 17km of off road enjoyment, very steady pace, muddy but so relaxing.

Out on my run I had time to wonder why I didn’t feel like racing, and whether I needed a re-think about what I was doing and wanted to do.

I thought about the differences between me and “Iron” Mike, not just that he is a better athlete than me!

Mike, to me, enters events to genuinely race them to try and be competitive, he enters a main race each year and builds to it and then tries to beat his best time. For me, I am much more of a bucket list athlete, I like the challenge of trying to complete an event and move onto the next thing. I have never found something I want to repeat and try to better my times each time.

When I think about this more I realise there are very few events I have done twice and only 1 I have done more than twice.

I thought triathlon was the event that I would really take to, it would always provide the challenge, you can increase the distance and test yourself, however, it just didn’t grab me in the way I hoped. Duathlon is a bit the same. I think that is why of so many years I was just happy going out and cycling, the odd event but nothing much more.

All this thinking has led me to decide to make a couple of changes, firstly I am going to stop the swimming lessons, and just go back to swimming and try to discover the enjoyment for it. Secondly, I think I am going to do more bike events after my main aim for this year, an endurance mountain bike race perhaps. I have always thought I could be reasonable at bike racing, and if not I would enjoy it anyway so maybe that is the future route.

I guess I will see how it all works out, but I don’t think being a bucket list athlete is a way to maintain interest and motivation and so finding the right path is still important.

2 thoughts on “No Race Day Motivation

  1. A good read buddy, I am inclined to agree with you on the bucket list athlete, put me on a cricket pitch or a Rugby pitch I am the most the competitive man alive win at all cost, sledge the opposition and do what I need to win! Running for me was to prove a point to myself and a few others that I could do it, fat lads can run, I wonder what is going to happen after the marathon!! Catch up soon

Leave a Reply

